Reeling in the whopper! Deep Sea Fishing in Mazatlan

Reeling in the whopper! Deep Sea Fishing in Mazatlan

I recently went on a deep sea fishing adventure with my grandparents in Mazatlan, Mexico. It was an amazing trip and very much welcomed after living in “chiberia” this winter. The day I left for Mexico, it snowed 6 inches which made the trip that much more welcomed. It felt great to take in the sun and “relax” for a few days. Who would have thought that my 75 year old grandparents would be the ones taking me on this adventure?!
The photo posted with this post is a picture of the marlins we caught the day that I went out fishing with them. I actually caught the biggest one on the left next to Julio thanks to his patience and guidance.
My grandmother explained before I started reeling him in that the experience would be like giving birth to a child; when you think you can’t go on and reel anymore, you just find an inner strength and keep going.
So when I got this thing on the hook, Julio was doing most of the work to ensure he stayed on, but then handed it all over to me. I was in for the fight of a lifetime! I thought oh ten or fifteen minutes and I’ll have this baby in. Little did I know, it would take me a little under an hour to reel this 150 lb beast in. I would get it closer and then it would fight and take my line back out to sea. During the fight, I was getting really hot and my hair was down. I managed to pull my hair back in a ponytail and keep going. That’s what I call multitasking :). This was one of the greatest experiences of my life and I owe it all to my dear grandparents!

Leave a Reply

